What I like to call "certainty statements"

Several years ago I began reading the One Year Bible after attending a women’s conference where the keynote speaker featured it. After many attempts to read through the Bible I’d never found a method that organized the readings for me in such a fashion and I felt so blessed to have been pointed in the right direction. Since those days of diving in whole heartedly and following what she called her Bible Bus Manual, a sheet of paper with a few pointers, I have been an advocate for it because it gives the freedom to dive in for as much time as one’s schedule allows or, as is my case today, gives me the reading in a format that allows me to still keep that precious time daily with the Lord in spite of a slightly more hectic schedule.

That being said, it was as I began to read God’s Word daily for myself that I began to notice what I have since begun calling certainty statements. These are words spoken from the mouth of God through Scripture regarding things that are certain, unchangeable and most importantly words that can be counted on.

This discovery and titling of certainty statements all originates from a place of loving words and language, the powerful way it can change anything it comes in contact with if appropriately applied. And I LOVE words! Taking that fascination with words to the ultimate Word gave me a lens through which I saw truth in black and white. I began noticing the words “all”, “always”, “is”, “not” and “will” and noticed that words such as “some”, “sometimes”, and “might” didn’t appear. This revealed to me a characteristic about my sweet Lord…He is not vague and He does not hesitate to commit Himself to the things which He is about.

Before I go any further here are a few examples from Scripture of what I mean…

Colossians 1:17, “And He is before all things and in Him all things hold together.”

John 12:32, “And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men to Myself.”

1 John 4:7-8, “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God for God is love.”

Deuteronomy 20:1, “When you go out to battle against your enemies and see horses and chariots and people more numerous than you, do not be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, who brought you up from the land of Egypt is with you.”

2 Chronicles 7:14, “and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray, and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

And this doesn’t scratch the surface…

As these certainty statements began to stick out to me more and more I began to see God’s character more clearly. How amazing that rather than just demanding we trust in Him with no real glimpse of who He is or what He’s about, Almighty God also gives evidence of Himself!

For some reason our culture has embraced the notion that being relative is the best seat in the house. I argue that…when there is no truth there is no security; everything being vague gives no peace, no rest. It is in the absolutes that we find ground firm enough to stand on.

Thank you Lord for the absolutes you have given through your Word!

2 Responses to “What I like to call "certainty statements"”

  1. Nathan and Stephany Says:

    (Nathan:) I like your term “certainty statements.” And I like what you said about truth, security, and absolutes. Studying the Bible really gave me a great appreciation and interest in words, too – which, in part, drew me to law school (words, interpretations, authorities). The “law” (our law, anyway) recoils from attributing a source to its authority – apart from the Constitution, it only goes so far as designating it “natural law” – it is inherent – it just “is.” I don’t recall ever hearing the term “absolute” in that context, though, which probably says something. Maybe the law is humankind’s best effort, but I am glad to be one of those with a greater view to Truth.

  2. Amy Says:

    I like calling them “certainty statements” too. This post is such a good reminder that we can rely on Him because He is steadfast; He doesn’t waver. I’m often indecisive and I certainly need to remember there are these absolutes and I can have complete trust in Him because of them.

Leave a Reply

