Remembering a dear friend


I received a call this morning that the Lord had been preparing me for all week, though I didn’t realize it until Ed called. My dear friend Judy Tillson passed away sometime yesterday at her home in Albuquerque.

I have known Ed and Judy since I was in 6th grade, they were neighbors and we sort of adopted one another. Ed was a pilot and so they traveled often, leaving their 10+ dogs and 5+ horses in my care…I can remember, at 11, driving my mom’s mini van over to their house at 6 in the morning to feed every one. The first horse I purchased for myself came from money I had saved working for them…and in turn rolled over to be the money I used to buy my first car several years later.

After my parent’s divorced and sold our home however I lost track of the Tillsons, seeing them only once over a 7 year period, until 4 years ago Ed called me out of the blue and asked if I could come down to stay with Judy while he was away at a field trial…she had just been let out of the hospital and couldn’t be alone at the house.

Thus began the reconnecting of a relationship I’m so glad has been a part of my life. Judy was a wonderful and strong woman who I could always count on for a little humor and a lot of spunk. One of the hardest things about being in Colorado was missing time down at their place and not having the opportunity for Hope to be around the dogs, horses, and overall tranquility that I will always associate with that little neighborhood.

Ed will be heading back from Iowa today and should arrive in Albq. tomorrow…she was alone when she died which breaks my heart all the more…and our little family will be heading down first thing Friday morning to stay with him at least through the weekend. Please keep me in your prayers as I’m not sure what to expect…having no children of their own they always viewed me as a daughter and I looked at them as an extra set of parents so I know this will be so difficult and I’m not exactly sure what to expect, but we know undoubtedly that we need to go back to be with Ed and will look to the Lord for the next step once we’re there.

One Response to “Remembering a dear friend”

  1. Susan Says:

    Praying for you, friend.
    Love ya.

Leave a Reply

