muffins…

While I’m on the topic of delicious and nutrious foods I can’t leave out one of my favorite things to make with Hope…Applesauce Muffins from “Deceptively Delicious”.

First, a word on the book…Jessica Seinfeld (http://www.deceptivelydelicious.com/site/) really hit one out of the park with this one. Cooking is edible art to me so I’m a sucker for just about anything yummy…but yummy and good for you is even better! My mom purchased this for me prior to the arrival of little miss Hope and it’s been fun to incorporate the recipes into our rotation here plus I love that each one has hidden veggie purees. Topping the list of our favorites are these applesauce muffins that have butternut squash puree…you’d never know it was there!

Needless to say, I’ve not really made the time to follow Jessica’s tip about having a freezer full of purees on hand so I tend to make them fresh right along with the rest of the meal, treat, etc. This one is loads of fun because Hope gets the biggest kick out of blenders…being the soux chef she is, she always helps hold the lid on tight and is a very honest taste tester! So, minus a picture of the muffins once baked, here’s a glimpse of what our kitchen looks like on muffin makin’ days…with one darling little soux chef proudly distracting from the chaos around her!

Picture 188

Picture 187

Picture 186

2 Responses to “muffins…”

  1. Ann Says:

    I love that cookbook! My sister had it and I borrowed it for awhile. The banana bread is one of my favorites. I don’t do the cauliflower puree, but had carrot puree frozen and threw that in instead. I also recently bought some milled flax seed and add that in there (directions are on the box for how to substitute for oil or eggs). I don’t feel guilty when I eat way too much. Hope you’re hangin’ in there towards the end. Can’t wait to “meet” your new little boy!

    • mymessylife Says:

      I haven’t tried that one but I LOVE banana bread and actually have a few bananas in the freezer I need to use sooner rather than later…I’ll have to try the flax seed; I’ve started making our bread with freshly milled whole wheat flour and it’s super yummy! I’m so with you…make sure to get the blueberry bar recipe with spinach puree from your sister or I can send it to you…AMAZING! Five weeks and counting…goes by so quickly and I’m pretty excited to meet him too!

Leave a Reply

