here comes the soap box…

We had to go pick up another bag of supplies from Home Depot the other night and it’s become somewhat of a ritual that Alex buys the supplies he needs and I snag a magazine…I have a crush on magazines. This time I went with the latest “Real Simple”…I loved that there was an article on snack ideas which I’m always up for plus I’ve enjoyed this mag as a whole…however it simultaneously leaves me with the unanswered question of “how simple can it really be if you have to publish more than one magazine?”. Anyway, reading through this magazine in addition to the latest book I picked up, “The Shoppers Guide”…which is essentially a condensed version of “Gorgeously Green” add a Biblical perspective…had me all wound up yesterday.

nursery and more

Hailing from New Mexico (Albuquerque in particular, which appears to be popping out Trader Joe’s like rabbits) we weren’t exactly prepared for the lack of reasonably priced organic and green options here in Colorado…correct me if I’m wrong, but I supposed that CO was right up there with Washington state in terms of a high concentration of granola loving people…must be farther north.

Anyway, there really doesn’t seem to be the availability of organic, natural, no body’s looked at it cross-eyed products at the prices we were paying in Abq.  So every time I get into these reading materials all over again I get stuck between a rock and a hard place. The more I learn about all the gross chemicals and poisons that are in a good deal of the products we use the more I’m interested in going “dark green” (a term I learned about yesterday thanks to Seventh Generation) however it’s frustrating that our grocery, agricultural system, etc. is set it up in such a way that it’s cost prohibitive for the average American budget to go green all the way around (it didn’t always used to be this way. In 1906 Congress passed a bill that prohibited  the manufacturing, sale, or transportation or adulterated, poisonous, or deleterious foods, etc. Which meant that, among other things, white flour and white sugar were not available on the shelves because they contain…get this…BLEACH! Yep, they’ve not just been stripped of any nutritional value, they’ve been bleached. Anyway, fast forward to 1938 when the Pure Food and Drug Act was repealed, the FDA’s role was expanded but began focusing more on drugs than food quality…yada, yada, yada and consequently we’ve all grown up consuming products and oblivious to the real damage we’re doing to our immune systems, organs, etc.)…can’t forsake being a good steward of our money just to be a good steward of our bodies and vice versa.

So I’m doing some thinking and evaluating…I just like to stream line things so darn much that the whole eval process has me in a bit of a pickle, but I’m bound and determined to get to the bottom of it. However, I’m also convinced that it may take a bit of complication before I reach a conclusion…can’t grow our own produce at the moment, can’t feasibly eat all organic everything all the time, and I’m not sure I’m ready to go through the detox process to make the switch to green deoderant…

It can get out of hand really quickly…so I’m thinking phases, priorities, and such…just keep adding to the green things we’re already consuming…household cleaning products – check, face wash, body wash, lotion – check…and if I don’t stop here this is bound to get even more rambly and less interesting than it already is…it is however interesting to learn that in addition to aluminum, all mainstream deoderants contain propylene glycol…which is ANTIFREEZE…so you mean to tell me, for the last x amount of years, I’ve been putting antifreeze directly under my arms?!?

…with my new found knowledge of antifreeze in my deoderant as well as a slew of other things I’ve got a bit to think about rather than just sitting around waiting for the little guy to arrive…and on and on…

Leave a Reply

