night and day…and I’m so darn thankful!

a family of four!!!

a family of four!!!

36 hours. Enough said…I’ll spare the details…but that’s the length of time that transpired between checking into the hospital for my induction with Hope and actually holding my baby girl in my arms…thirty-six hours.

Friday, September 18th, we checked into the hospital at 8:30AM…shortly thereafter I was hooked up to the pitocin and an IV…which I absolutely detest…they make me a little claustrophobic. We eased into the pitocin VERY gradually which was great and by noon-ish my doctor came to break my water…add a little “Arthur” (Dudley Moore, not the cartoon mouse thing), some chicken broth and Jell-O…the blessed gift of the epidural took place at about 1, and I must add that I LOVE epidurals…as a friend said to me before Hope was born, “there is no need to be a hero”…I agree and although I’m typically hard pressed to even take a Tylenol I would not do childbirth any other way. By 4 I was dialated to a 6…4:30 I was at a 10 and feeling the urge to push…which again, was so different than with Hope…apparently my epidural with her must have been incredibly dense b/c I was fully reliant on the nurse and my midwife to guide me through each contraction…

From 4:30 to 5:10 we waited to my doctor to show up…I pushed from 5:10 – 5:17 and at 5:17 he arrived! And I did something this time that I was totally opposed to last time b/c I thought it would be SO weird…I watched him be born. And I have to admit, it was hands down the most incredible experience! Nothing about it was weird and, I know this sounds a little out there, but it was really empowering to watch my child come into this world.

So, when it was all said and done we welcomed our healthy baby boy into this world and sat staring at each other in disbelief that by 7 PM we were in recovery…we’re loving life with 2 and so grateful for a healthy and oh so precious little addition to our family. Seth Christopher, welcome!

still to be done... 009

One Response to “night and day…and I’m so darn thankful!”

  1. Susan Says:

    Indeed! Welcome, little man!

Leave a Reply

