what’s in a name?

As of today we have had the honor of naming two little people. Both times we felt that their names were “it”. And I can say with total honesty that x amount of years ago, over a good game of MASH, I wouldn’t have gone with the names we picked…never even hit my radar. But we knew that it was important that we give our children names with meaning first and foremost…and decided names we just “liked” would be better suited for dogs.

Anyway, Hope’s (Elizabeth…or “litl bussiss” as she says it) means “waiting with the expectation of fulfillment because my God is an oath”…the ‘because’ is an add in to connect the two…how appropriate a reminder. The book of James tells us that we will experience trails, “Consider it all joy my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” (James 1:2-4)

Well, let’s just say I’ve seen first hand some of those trials that James was referring to and I’m 100% sure that if I didn’t know God and wasn’t waiting on Him to fulfill His promises, in His time and way, I wouldn’t so much as consider any of them joy…but because of who my God is…a covenant keeping, just, righteous and merciful God, I wait…with expectation…that He will do what He says He will do.

Her name was easy…naming a boy…not so much…

BUT…then it happened…

Alex was currently enrolled in an evening Old Testament class and had just come home…I…was asleep. Side note, Alex looks at a pillow out of the corner of his eye and dozes off. Me, well let’s just say I’m as opposite of that as you can be…if I’m fortunate, a good night has me out after about 20 minutes of good thinking paired with wonderings of why I can’t go to sleep. So I knew it had to be good when he showed up from class and woke my tail up!

“Stace, what do you think of the name ‘Seth’?”

“Huh…?”

“Yeah, he was the son born to Adam and Eve after the whole mess with Cain and Abel…it means ‘established by God’…what do you think?”

“Oh…” (I don’t really like it but Alex is really enthusiastic about it and the meaning is great…but I just don’t know…)

I was pretty dead set on Benjamin…and I had it in my mind that come hell or high water when little boy Paxson arrived that would be his name…

Well…you know the rest…September 18, 2009 Seth Christopher Paxson joined our family…”established by God in Christ”…that’s the whole of it. Awesome isn’t it!???! And what’s even better is that each of these little people, with their very big names, entered into our family at a pivotal time in our marriage that can be summed up by their very big names! So we really think God named them…if He formed them and did all the knitting it makes pretty good sense that He also had names for ’em!

But more on that another time…back to my question…all this responsibility of naming people over the last hand full of years has had me wondering about the meaning of names. And one question in particular REALLY interests me…who came up with all of them? And better yet, how did said determiner-of-name-meanings get his or her definitions to stick? Was there Skittle bribery involved!?! With Biblical names was it decided later on down the road, based on what he or she went through? We live with our names our whole life but I can honestly say it wasn’t until faced the responsibility of giving names to our kiddos that the magnitude of it hit me…THE.REST.OF.THEIR.LIVES! 🙂

So…do share a story or two about names? Do you like yours? Did you ever wish your mom and dad had picked out some other name (for a long time I wanted to be named Tracy…big switch huh?)? How’d you come about naming your little people?

2 Responses to “what’s in a name?”

  1. sehayes Says:

    I think you know how we named #1, right? And when I was younger I wanted to Heather or Hillary. What in the world was I thinking?!
    Susan is such an old person’s name, though.. but I have to say it fits. Ha! But I am THRILLED that I was able to change out Coffin for Hayes 🙂

  2. Seana Says:

    Oh Stacey thanks for sharing that…naming Preslie was easy…I just knew that was her name. This little boy however is quite the opposite! Maybe it’s because I know it will never change…he will have the same last name forever…I don’t know but nothing seems right for our little guy. I have heard tons of cute names but I hear them and say “Oh that’s cute! but it’s just not him…” I know that God knows his name and it is waiting out there for us to find so please pray that he helps us find it sometime before he is born 🙂

Leave a Reply

