Lived to tell about it…

Last Thursday I thought might be the end of me…insert laughter if you’re the nervous type but  it was no laughing matter…

Around 3 or so I started feeling a bit queasy…Hope was still down for a nap and it was about time for the little mister to go down as well, so I thought I’d do my best to rest and pray that I felt better when I woke up.

It didn’t work…and thankfully Hope was taking an extra long nap otherwise I would have had to explain to my two-year-old why I was holding onto the toilet for dear life…which, on a side note, had I known how many hours I would have spent over that darn toilet I would have cleaned it earlier in the day…

Anyway…after frantically trying to contact Alex, who NEVER stays late for work, and my sister, who I would find out from her husband was at the gym, my very quick on his feet bro-in-law suggested I call my friend next door…this did not occur to me as I was in a rather foggy state of mind…so thankful for that suggestion…

She came over and helped with the little people until Alex arrived home…of all the nights for a late meeting…and still it would not let up. With my sister now at our house as well, we were able to get both little people to bed…and I really thought the worst had to have passed…

Fast forward to 10:30 pm…following a call to the triage nurse, we decided to head in…my ability to keep ANYTHING down was no where to be found and I was rapidly approaching dehydration point plus…breast milk was on the line…

Thankfully my neighbor and her husband rushed over as soon as we called and we were able to head to the ER…still it continued…poor Alex…that guy had to deal with more of me in that car ride than any one husband should!

Arriving at the ER I was so thankful the typical 7 year wait didn’t occur…meds, 2 IV bags, and a slew of blood work later I was feeling like I might survive…and around 2 in the morning we arrived back home…

Let me just tell ya that food poisoning is NASTY business…I don’t ever want to see my bile again…it can stay in my stomach and do it’s job there, thank you very much.

But here’s the kicker…the last thing I ate was a tamale from our wonderful little natural market right here in our little town. Yep. Who would have thought? You never can be too careful about what you’re putting in your mouth. And then today, we found out my sis and her hubs woke up with food poisoning as well…Il Vicino last night for dinner…like I said, ya never can be too careful…

My delightful Valentine’s date with the toilet and trip to the ER are being relived here for a reason:


FOOD INC.

Now, I need to prepare you…if you’d rather be ignorant and just keep on in the way of the lemmings, don’t. That’s just silly and unengaged. Plus, why on earth would you not want to know what you’re eating?

We watched this movie Saturday night with J&K actually and were appalled at what we learned. I’ve known for sometime that organic, all-natural is the way to go. And a few months back I mentioned a book I had been reading that reiterated this point. And although about 85% of the products we keep around our little place are all-natural, in the way of cleaning products, body care, etc. I have found it somewhat difficult to justify the added cost that comes with an organic eating overhaul.

So we’d modify as budget would allow…buying free-range chicken in bulk…milk without hormones…purchasing a 1/4 beef that’s been grass-fed…and so on. But our diet still consisted of a fast food burger here and there, non-organic produce, products with some variation of High Fructose Corn Syrup (aka…I will give you diabetes and you won’t even see it coming because you weren’t paying attention)…

Well let me just say that after this vid, which you should be able to pick up at your local Blockbuster, no more…Alex is on board…and here’s a peek into what I mean…

My trashcan after emptying out our snack basket…let me be honest…most of this stuff has been in there a good, long while BUT it was there…just waiting…and taking up valuable real estate…

Now our snack basket looks like this…

Lots of yummy dried fruits, nuts, and some organic chips! Much tidier too…which always puts a smile on my face…

Anyway, watch the movie and you’ll too be joining me as I wage war against HFC and all the other nasty stuff in my fridge and pantry…cooking and snacking at home for now…one trip to the ER and a well-done documentary was all the motivation I needed to dive head first into the world of organics. AND on a budget…stay tuned!

3 Responses to “Lived to tell about it…”

  1. sehayes Says:

    I was wondering what you would think!! And now I know!
    Hmmm… we still are eating fast food on occasion… and our pantry still has some Gerber stuff.. and goldfish…
    You may also like “King Corn”.

  2. Nathan Stimson Says:

    Wow, yeah, we watched Food, Inc. and were pretty impressed by what we learned. That’s great that you guys have determined to make the shift to as-much-organic-as-you-can. That’s tough to do, but probably well worth it. Hopefully we can make some progress in that direction in the near future.

    • Stacey Says:

      One step at a time…be checking back in the next week or two because I’m going to be doing a give-away that breaks the process down into manageable steps!

Leave a Reply

